A Visit to Eataly

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting Eataly for the first time in March. Although it opened when I lived in Brooklyn, as a busy graduate student I never found the time to make it there. Needless to say, I was very excited when we finally paid Eataly a visit.

IMG_20140316_120945

Mmmm, pasta at Eataly.

IMG_20140316_121350

An Eataly employee making fresh pasta.

At first glance, Eataly appears to be much like other markets with departments for produce, meat, poultry, bread etc. but one quickly realizes it’s got something special. As a destination for both locals and tourists it’s very busy (like everything else in NYC) and requires some familiarity with the layout. I think we circled the store about three times just so I could take it all in. Their selection is unparalleled, particularly in charcuterie and imported goods. Eataly aims to make shopping an experience, from the pasta-making demonstrations to the gift shop to the top floor beer garden. They pride themselves on providing the highest quality, lowest priced goods possible, offering a great selection, and in possessing extensive knowledge about all of their products and services.

IMG_20140316_121214

The bakery at Eataly.

IMG_20140316_121913

Cheese from all over the world at Eataly.

For me, Eataly was both awe-inspiring and thoroughly overwhelming. It is well worth a visit but it is not the kind of place I could afford to frequent regularly. If I lived in New York, I would go there to meet friends on occasion and to shop for specialty items sparingly. Our purchases were a beer for me at the Birreria and a small jar of Crema Nocciole hazelnut spread (yummm!) We had a great time and I would gladly go back again except next time I would have a recipe in mind to shop for.

IMG_20140316_131849_182[1]

Eataly’s rooftop restaurant and brewery.

IMG_20140316_124508[1]

I forget which beer I tried, but it was delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

